[BOK] The woman who went to bed for a year

The woman who went to bed for a year – Sue Townsend

Jag hade ganska höga förväntningar på den här, eftersom jag Sue Townsends Adrian Mole och The Queen and I hör till mina favoriter och jag har läst dem flera gånger. Den senare satt jag och läste på tunnelbanan vid ett tillfälle och fnissade så högt att en person var tvungen att fråga mig vad det var jag läste.

Den här boken levde inte riktigt upp till förväntningarna. Den var småkul, men inte ”skratta högt-rolig”, som jag hade väntat mig. Det kändes även som om den inte höll hela vägen, slutet blev lite ”luddigt”, som om författaren inte riktigt visste vart hon skulle ta vägen med berättelsen.

The day her twins leave home, Eva climbs into bed and stays there. For seventeen years she’s wanted to yell at the world, ‘Stop! I want to get off’. Finally, this is her chance. Her husband Brian, an astronomer having an unsatisfactory affair, is upset. Who will cook his dinner? Eva, he complains, is attention seeking. But word of Eva’s defiance spreads. Legions of fans, believing she is protesting, gather in the street. While Alexander the white van man brings tea, toast and sympathy. And from this odd but comforting place Eva begins to see both herself and the world very, very differently… (Adlibris)

Kommentera

