[BOK] How to fare well and stay fair

How to fare well and stay fair – Adnan Mahmutovic

Inside this book bursts a kaleidoscope of characters in historical settings from the Balkans to Scandinavia, which they seek to escape, fit in, or change. Following a few female leads after they leave war-torn Bosnia, this book compresses simmering emotions ranging from loss, fear, love, hate, revenge, displacement, regret, humor, and hope. Almasa, the main character in most stories, is feisty and funny, and she suffers no fools. She will go to any length to take charge of her broken life and avoid being labeled a victim. Fatima is like her subtler sister, but no less determined to turn the tables on her horrible fate. In between them are pieces of the author’s life, as fictionalized as the lives of the two women are real. Each story, although compact and unique on its own, is tied to all other stories, chronologically, emotionally, or thematically. (Adlibris)

Den här läste jag ut i april men jag har inte hunnit skriva om den förrän nu. Jag hade nöjet att träffa författaren (och även köpa boken av honom) på Bookcrossing-konventet i Göteborg, där han berättade om boken och även läste ett par stycken ur den.

Precis som det står i beskrivningen ovan är det alltså en samling noveller, som hänger ihop. De fungerar även på egen hand, men jag tror att man skulle förlora en del om man inte läste hela boken eftersom de som sagt hänger ihop och huvudpersonerna kommer tillbaka.

Jag tyckte mycket som språket och ”stämningen” i berättelserna, men ibland rörde jag ihop personerna. Förmodligen har det mer med mig själv att göra, jag är inte alltid så koncentrerad som jag borde vara när jag läser.

Kommentera

